Learning humility

Presently, I am in a place where God is teaching me humility. Maybe because God sees my heart that I am not humble… or maybe something else… But whatever his reasons are, I have to be honest, it is NOT easy. Ang sakit sakit!

Humility is such a nice word. Madalas, sinasabi nating it is one of the best values/virtues ng isang tunay na Kristiyano. Everyone of us wanted to be in a Church full of humble people. We also believe that if all Christians will uphold humility in their lives like Jesus,  eh di wala sanang conflicts sa loob ng Church. And yes, it’s good to see humility in other people, at masarap din sa pakiramdam when people say you have a humble heart. Sabi pa ng Bible, ” The LORD lifts up the humble; but He casts the wicked down to the ground”. (Ps. 147:6), kaya James encouraged us to “Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up.” (James 4:10). What a great promise.

Pero ano nga ba talaga ang humility? How can one become genuinely humble?

Though he brings grief, he will show compassion, so great is his unfailing love. For he does not willingly bring affliction or grief to anyone. (Lam 3:32-33)

Presently, I am in a place where God is teaching me humility. Maybe because God sees my heart that I am not humble. Or maybe he wants me to learn humility, so the readers of this blog will learn through my experience, or maybe because God wants me to be more humble, so he can have the excuse to lift me up, in His time. But whatever his reasons are, I have to be honest, it is NOT easy. Ang sakit sakit!

The Hebrew word of humility means “to be afflicted”. It is also the Hebrew word for grapes. Grapes have to be pressed, or “to be afflicted” before they can produce good quality wines. (I will have a separate article about this.) Ganun din ang ginagawa sa akin ng Lord ngayon. He is pressing me major-major to reveal what is inside of me, to see what I am made of.

Pero naisip ko rin na hindi ako mananatili sa ganitong state forever. Lamentations 3:31-32 said,

31 For no one is abandoned
by the Lord forever.
32 Though he brings grief, he also shows compassion
because of the greatness of his unfailing love.

Soon, I will be lifted out of this situation and restored. So naisip ko, habang nandito ako sa kalagayang ito, I want to capture my thoughts in a “capsule”, para meron akong babalikan when God takes me to another “pressing process”.

So starting today, I will be writing a series about humility. I also added a Humility category, under Faith and Spirituality. I hope you will join me, as I go through this process, as I learn about humility.

2 thoughts on “Learning humility

  1. Pingback: Grapes and Humility « Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  2. Pingback: Pride and humility, destruction and honor « Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

