humility in silence

I’m surprised to realize that I tend to learn more when I keep my mouth shut at least for a while…

It has been 6 days since the last time I posted a blog entry, at marami na ang nagtatanong:

Kamusta ka na?
Nice blog entry, but why the sudden silence?
Kailan ang next post mo?
Bakit tahimik kahit FB profile mo?
Why are you silent this past few days?

Nasorpresa ako. I just decided to be quiet for a while, and people around me find that unusual. Then naisip ko, siguro kase, nasanay sila sa akin na bubbly, makulit, di nauubusan ng kwento, energetic– in short, maingay.

Funny, I told myself. Then, I opened my Bible and went back to the verses that I have been meditating:

Truly my soul silently waits for God; From Him comes my salvation. - Ps. 62:1

25 The LORD is good to those who wait for Him,
To the soul who seeks Him.
26 It is good that one should hope and wait quietly 
For the salvation of the LORD.
27 It is good for a man to bear
The yoke in his youth.
28 Let him sit alone and keep silent,
Because God has laid it on him;
29 Let him put his mouth in the dust
There may yet be hope.
30 Let him give his cheek to the one who strikes him,
And be full of reproach.
31 For the Lord will not cast off forever.
(Lamentations 3:25-31)

This it what struck me. This is what made me look back and re-evaluate myself.

On the upside. I’m such a bubbly person with a vibrant personality at hindi nauubusan ng kwento. But on the downside, I’m too noisy. I talk too much. Sabi pa ni nanay, kahit nung bata pa ako, hindi pwedeng hindi ako mangatwiran. Lagi akong may palusot. Lagi akong may argumento. Lalo na pag alam kong may point ako, hindi pwedeng hindi ko iyon ipaglaban.

Pero, nakilala ko na si Kristo, hindi ba? And if I am a new creation, hindi na dapat ako nabubuhay in the way I used to live.

Yes, in this world where we live in, it is important to express yourself– to stand up for what you believe and fight for your convictions. But sometimes it is also important to shut up. To bite the dust, and restrain ourselves from talking, if only long enough to learn something new.

Silence. Madalas, we will only hear the message of God if we will quiet down our souls and patiently wait for him.

Silence. Do you remember how God spoke to Elijah in the mountain? Hindi ba’t he used a still, small voice?

Humility in silence means choosing not to listen to our heart’s cry when we feel we have been wronged.
Humility in silence means choosing to relinquish our rights to be given a chance to defend ourselves, or ask for a fair trial.
Humility in silence means choosing to let go and let God, and allow him to save us and restore us– in His own way and own time.

Nung bata pa ako, maingay ako. Madaldal. mapagmataas… nung bata pa ako.

But silence has taught me to be humble. Silence has taught me maturity.


One thought on “humility in silence

  1. Pingback: Pride and humility, destruction and honor « Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

