Unpredictable God | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Image lifted from http://www.bipolartoday.com
Have you heard someone say this: “You know you are doing God’s will if things are going smoothly, otherwise if you experience hardship then it is a sure indicator that you are going against His will.”

I have always been a believer of this; until the time when God allowed me to go through events in my life that were never smooth, yet I still felt his loving arms around me as I went through that painful sharpening – an event He himself orchestrated. That event led me to an encounter with an unpredictable God. It opened my eyes to the truth that humans cannot predict or explain all his ways and actions — it points to a humbling realization that He is God, and we can not fully understand the depth of His wisdom unless He chooses to reveal them.

The Bible is full of examples that reinforce this truth. The Book of Job is my personal favorite.

His friends, matured and deep in spiritual foundations, theorized that the events in Job’s life are consequences of sin. In good faith, they had argued that suffering is basically punishment for sin and prosperity is reward for righteousness (4:7–8).1 They must have thought: surely God will never allow these things if Job is living a life of righteousness.

But who would have thought that God is actually and actively behind all of these?

In our own personal lives, we will have experiences that will change our paradigms. And as Os Hillman said “each of these new paradigms [is] a stepping-stone of an encounter with God so that the individual would experience God in a new way. God used these times to enforce the principle that His ways are not our ways. Whenever we try to predict that God will act in a certain way, He changes the paradigm to keep us from becoming our own little gods. “

Also in life, we might encounter well-meaning Christians who would tell us, “God doesn’t work that way, He would never do that.” As long as you know the Lord speaks to you, and His Spirit guards your heart in peace, then do not be troubled. Whatever you believe about these things, keep between yourself and God. Blessed is the one who does not condemn himself by what he approves. (Romans 14:22, NIV)

In the same token, should we hear someone claiming an experience they have had that we’ve never had, let us try not to dismiss it as extreme or something not of God, as if we knew God too well–the Pharisees acted like this and Jesus rebuked them harshly.

For we cannot put God in a box; there’s no assurance He would ALWAYS act in ways we expect or predict. Just because it happened to us, doesn’t mean it will also happen to them. God deals with us personally, individually and uniquely. And there are times when God chooses to confound the foolish in order to change our paradigm of experience.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth,For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.

–          Isaiah 55:8-9

Thoughts to Ponder:

Have you encountered the Unpredictable God?


References:
  1. Desiring God — Job: Rebuked in Suffering
  2. Prime Time with God – Os Hillman
12 thoughts on “Unpredictable God | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  1. This is one of the prosperity gospel lies:
    “You know you are doing God’s will if things are going smoothly, otherwise if you experience hardship then it is a sure indicator that you are going against His will.”

    No way are things going smoothly when you are crying with tears of blood.
    Thank you Jesus for enduring the cross even when everything is going wrong!

    • Yes, I also heard this being preached in my Church so I was very inclined to believe that too. But I don’t mean to say my Church pastor is into the Prosperity Gospel, I believe that they have good intentions and that they exhorted in good faith to edify the flock, or maybe God has personal revelations to them about this. Whatever the reasons, it’s their responsibility to God.

      It also showed me that it is best for Church members to be inquisitive on their own and seek God’s personal revelation to them.

      Praise God.

      • This time, I would beg to disagree bro. But I respect your position, as always.

        The prosperity gospel is not a simple philosophy. It comes in different shapes and flavors. Or what I mean is different levels. Benny Hinn/Joel Osteen/Creflo/Joyce Meyer are among the top. Others on a more subtle kind. Ive been to a church where the pastor has doctor of divinity from a reputable seminary. It took me year to decipher (or discern, to put it more spiritually), that he from time to time, seasons his sermons with this poison. And my fears came finally confirmed when he said his personal hero is oral roberts and wants to imitate his programs.

        I don’t doubt our pastors good intentions. But no matter how I exhort in good faith to edify the flock, if I am promising false hope, I am not revealing Christ. You can say to a person with terminal cancer that she will be healed and maybe convince her at some point too and just forget about it. But if God will not heal her, the next day we know she’ll be dead without preparing for it/her loved ones.

        I don’t even think God does personal revelations that are extra biblical or moreso, anti-biblical (may word bang ganun?). That’s what joseph smith and mohammed said: God or an angel gave SPECIAL REVELATION to them. The Bible is God’s revelation of His will and of who He is. God will only reveal things that are in accordance with the scriptures. If the receiver of the revelation persists, there are only two things happening. EIther he’s lying (deceived) or God is.

        • Pasensya na now lang nkpgreply. Lots of things goings ons.

          Anyways i have always been open to friendly discourse, so again with much respect i accept your disagreement bro. You have been my “virtual sparingmate”, so, en garde!

          What can i say? Hindi ko rin naman maitatanggi na these things do happen diba? Actually ur arguments have been in my mind for quite sometime now and I wish to inform you na Im seriously considering those “evidences”.

          You have been a worthy “opponent”, and i praise God for your life.

          • I didn’t mean to be an opponent. If I came that way, my apologies.

            But I think this is the only way I know how to express my love for my dear brothers and sisters who are being used and abused as I once were by the very spiritual guardians who should have been protecting me and my younger siblings. These siblings of mine have long shown deep love and appreciation for me. I feel obliged to do the same.

          • No no no. I din’t mean that way either. Mahilig lang kase ako noon sa balagtasan and debates during my High school and college days, so I am often looking for people who would engage me and take the “opposite” side of the argument. kaya opponent tawag ko. haha. sabi ko nga sayo, as iron sharpens iron.
            No offense taken, don’t worry. In fact I hope you would continue being just the way you are. I don’t always hit the mark, and some of my beliefs and understandings are “too shallow” at best, so I am open to correction.

            Salamat. =)

  2. very well said!..we really cannot predict how God will works…for He works in His own way that nobody can tell.. as for me?.”if God is predictable and if people would exactly could tell what He thinks and what He will really do?..then He is not God at all!

    • That is exactly what I am also thinking Janeth. One characteristic of being God is His thoughts can not be fathomed. We cannot and will not understand God simply because He is God and we are not… unless if He reveals those thoughts to us.

  3. Pingback: Pondering on the Sovereignty of God and Human Freewill | Notes of an Imperfect Christian « Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  4. Pingback: Pondering on the Sovereignty of God and the Human Freewill | Notes of an Imperfect Christian « Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

