Pondering on the Sovereignty of God and the Human Freewill | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

I have always been fascinated about the relationship between God’s sovereignty and human free will.

When I was younger in my faith, I learned that people who have not yet accepted Jesus Christ as their Lord and Savior don’t have the Holy Spirit to guide them so they are left at the mercy of their sinful nature, carnal desires, or the god of this world and his agents. Their sinful nature causes them to live in sin, they are outside God’s loving care and protection and therefore they often make bad choices and suffer the consequences of these bad choices they make. I still hold this as truth, as there are too many Bible verses that support this. Ephesians 2 is a good start.


On the other side of that, I also believed that those who have accepted Jesus were accepted into God’s loving care and protection, the Holy Spirit guides them and leads them to sound decisions, and therefore I concluded that God ALWAYS governs the choices made by his “chosen people”.

But as I grew older both in age and faith,  in the face of poor choices made by even the most well-meaning Christians, amidst scandals committed by His seasoned saints both in the past and in present age, and even of my own personal struggle with my human weaknesses, I start to get confused again about God’s sovereignty and human free will.

Questions start to arise:

  • Does God’s sovereignty in my life includes what color of my socks I would wear today, or does he allow my freewill to work over those small stuff?
  • If God allows me to exercise my free will over choices which may be too simple, then what do God considers as “simple decisions” and “big decisions”?
  • Where does the free will of man ends and the sovereignty of God begins? Or is it the other way around? Or can they work harmoniously?
  • What about the bad choices made by ungodly people that directly affect me, such as when a someone stole my motorcycle? Does God have no sovereignty over the ungodly, so they can do anything they want?
  • Is choosing my future spouse, a choice for me to make? Or does it fall under the “Big Decisions” category that God has to intervene?

I think this is a good theme as I enter the year 2013. I will get back to these questions, and I hope I can answer all of them.

Again, I am unlearning what I used to know, in order for me to learn new things, and discover God for who He is. May His Spirit guide me in this discovery.

I will be writing here whatever I find, and I will appreciate if you could join me in this discovery, feel free to write your thoughts in the comments below.

6 thoughts on “Pondering on the Sovereignty of God and the Human Freewill | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  1. Pingback: When God Allows Missed Opportunities | Notes of an Imperfect Christian « Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  2. Pingback: With a new day we have a new chance to change our ways, our path and our destination. | One Lifetime

  3. Pingback: Reflection on Man’s Natural Tendency to Sin | Notes of an Imperfect Christian | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  4. Pingback: Surprising God? – Notes of an Imperfect Christian | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  5. Pingback: We are the Product of our Choices | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

