God of Chances and Choices | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

crossroads

crossroads (Photo credit: Laenulfean)

Reflecting on 2012, I saw God’s tremendous blessings and wonderful favor both in big and small packages. I saw his work in every twist and turn of my life. In hindsight, I notice that these favors came from almost every angle, as if He seems to be “just looking for reasons to bless me”. But my 2012 is a far cry from a praiseworthy “Christian Report Card of Faithfulness and Obedience”, in as much as I tried to remain in His course. For this year also saw me missing opportunities, making wrong turns, unwise decisions and foolish mistakes. Looking back, I wish I knew what option to choose, who to trust, which offer to accept, how to react better… and perhaps the most important, when to wait. And as I am about to enter 2013, I feel a cocktail of emotions again: anxiety, excitement, anticipation and fear. While it is my personal conviction that the Holy Spirit guides us Christians into sound decisions, and therefore God (almost always) governs the choices made by his “chosen people”, I also acknowledge that sometimes we don’t always discern God’s leading — as my 2012 proved. So now another question-pair gets added to the list I’ve written in my previous post: How will I know that the choice I made is aligned with God’s will? And what if I missed it? While I am reflecting on the relationship between God’s sovereignty and human free will, I believe God gave me a glimpse on this mystery through a friend’s story.


3 thoughts on “God of Chances and Choices | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  1. Pingback: Surprising God? – Notes of an Imperfect Christian | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  2. Pingback: We are the Product of our Choices | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  3. Pingback: Looking back at 2013 | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

