When God Molds My Eve | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

18 The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a help-meet suitable for him.” Gen 2:18

When I saw this verse 5 years ago, I prayed to God that He may lead me to my lifetime partner. Being into relationships with non-Christian girls before, I made a decision that for me to find Ms. Right I should seek in the right places — the Church.

And so I started scouting for “potential Ms. Right” in the church. My specifications are simple, or so I thought:

  1. A Woman after God’s own heart
  2. A mighty and noble woman
  3. someone to face and kill “giants” with me
  4. someone who will stand by my side and fight my battles with me
  5. A “1 Samuel 16:12 girl” – ruddy, with beautiful eyes,  and good-looking.

Of course I soon discovered the choices are plenty! So I set my eyes on standing youth leaders and ministry workers. After all, a woman “serving the Lord in Church ministry” is a woman after God’s own heart, right? Wrong. And God rebuked me with His word.

But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:6-7

Just because a person is serving in the ministry and a standing leader doesn’t mean she’s immediately a woman after God’s own heart!

Then He placed a girl’s name in my heart. “What? Her? But she’s not even a Church worker! Look at her. How could she be a woman after Your own heart?” I protested.

“The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.

Look at Gideon, why do you think I called him Mighty Man of valor in that moment he was pressing grapes and cowardly hiding in fear? (Judges 6:12) When I look into a person, I do not see him in his present condition, with all his imperfections and weaknesses. When I look into this young woman, I see what she will become once I am finished molding her into her purpose and calling.

So I returned to Gen 2:18-25.

To form Eve, Adam had to be wounded. A part of him close to his heart had to be taken out, so Eve can be shaped into the woman that God wants her to be — a help-meet, which in Hebrew means ezer, a strong helper. This wounding-separating-molding process could mean pain to Adam and could also mean a temporary separation. Both are uncomfortable but necessary.

I love her so much because God gave her to me. And in my heart I hold this true: that in His perfect time God will return her to my side, this time a completely molded help-meet.

Because if she is going to be a giant-killer, then she has to be brave. If she is going to be a mighty woman then  she has to learn taking risks. And if she is going to fight my battles with me, then she has to be an ezer — a Warrior Bride.

After all, she wouldn’t be named after the GreekRoman goddess of hunting and birth if not for this purpose.

One thought on “When God Molds My Eve | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

  1. Pingback: A Man Must Take his Question to God | Faith

Join the Ruckus...

