God does not care about your past

In the time of Jesus, the genealogy is traced on the male (Father) side. So it is quite interesting to observe that in Matthew 1, there are 5 women who were mentioned as part of Jesus’ lineage.

1. Tamar, the daughter in law of Judah (whom Judah got pregnant with twins)
2. Rahab, the prostitute of Jericho
3. Ruth, a Moabite (non-Israelite, a Gentile like most of us)
4. Bathsheeba, the woman with whom David committed adultery
5. Mary, who in her time was considered a fornicator for becoming pregnant outside wedlock.

Now consider this:
Why would God, choose to allow 5 women with “bad records in the eyes of man” and qualified them to be worthy to carry the genes that will make up Jesus’ earthly body?

Answer: To show that God’s GRACE disqualifies no one to be part of his family. Those he calls, He justifies. And those he justifies, he qualifies and glorifies (Rom 8:30).

Your history, no matter how bad it is, can be His story.  If Jesus did not care about your past, why would you?

4 thoughts on “God does not care about your past

    • Thank you for the kind words Tasha. I looked up your profile and saw the ministry and passion you have for the former inmates and gangsters. In my teens, reaching out to juvenile delinquents and out of school youth have had the most profound impact in my Christian life.
      I am deeply amazed and inspired with your group, and I wish to know more about this ministry. I believe they have learned lessons that those in the Christianity “norms” can also learn from.

  1. Hey! I think it’s amazing you did work w/juveniles in the system. I also super appreciate your comment:I believe they have learned lessons that those in the Christianity “norms” can also learn from. This is something our Mission:USA president Glen says often and he was the chaplain at a large juvenile detention center in Houston. I super appreciate you following us brother. It made my day and I am happy to follow back. I love your posts and dig your attitude and spirit. http://www.missionusa.com has more information about our ministry. Check it out and let me know what you think! I’m happy to keep up correspondence and discuss this further.
    -Tasha, The Bridge Chicago

  2. Pingback: Seriously Lord, why Rahab the Harlot? | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

