Yolanda and the Revolution of Righteousness

A few days ago, I found myself reflecting and asking:

revolution of righteousness“Why are all these things happening to our country — exposes in the government, Bohol earthquake and Typhoon Yolanda?”

Then a thought struck me from nowhere. This is happening because our Church declared a “Revolution of Righteousness”, and the Devil was furious, so he launched a full-scale attack to counter this revolution.

What a great revelation! I feel so thrilled about the idea that I started composing it into my FB wall.

But before I hit Post button,  another thought came, gentle yet confounding:

Do you really believe that this happens JUST BECAUSE YOUR CHURCH did something during your Anniversary? Are you this proud to claim such “large scale impact” to be aftermath of your doing? Anak, hindi lang kayo ang Body of Christ.

That was a strong rebuke, and I found myself humbled.

It is not about you, or your Church.

The Voice in my head continued:

Your Church organization is just a very small portion of a “bigger body” in the Philippines, not to mention the world. Don’t think so highly of your organization — that just because she declared a certain “Revolution of Righteousness” during her anniversary celebration, several high-profile events happened at a national scale that even affected neighboring countries like Vietnam.

What about the other Bible-believing Churches in your country?

Here’s a hypothetical question: What if may isang small but bold Christian Church pala sa Tacloban, or sa Mindoro, or sa La Union na hindi ka-anib sa “umbrella organization” nyo, who “declared war” against the principalities of the air, at nabulabog nila ang mga demonyo. What if nag-prayer brigade pala sila, and SILA pala ang totoong may kagagawan?

Or, if you so boldly declare that all these are aftermath of your so-called “Revolution of Righteousness”, are you willing to be held responsible for the lost of lives and damage to properties, because you stirred the enemy to war and he retaliated?

I was silenced. My heart was exposed to be thinking religious elitism about the Church I belong to. At kung iisiping mabuti, wala itong pagkakaiba dun sa taong nag-tweet na kung mamatay ang mga Pilipino, Iglesya lang nila ang maliligtas.

Lord, patawad. =(

So why am I blogging this? because hindi ako biased and I want to share what I learned. 

Self-check din minsan pag may time. While it is not bad to feel a sense of pride to the group we belong, we are also commanded to “cast down imaginations, and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ”.

Just because I belong to this organization, doesn’t mean I will always write good stuff about her or our leaders. In fact, I once said, “I love my Church, but I will not turn a blind eye when she makes an idiot out of herself” 1. Also, I’m sharing this because I’m afraid I am not the only one to think that way. Well, sana nga ako lang ang guilty na nagiisip ng ganun. 

Alam ko madaming magtataas ng kilay sa post na ito. But, my convictions are simple. I love my  Church, but I don’t want myself, or my co-members, or her leaders to believe that she is an “elite type” of Church — na bawat kilos ng Iglesyang ito has a tremendous impact sa buong bansa.

I am writing this to REMIND MYSELF that she is not an elite, and she is far from being perfect. She is like any other Church, a Church of dropouts and sinners and hypocrites and failures and losers and fools–myself being the worst of them. Her leaders are well-meaning, but still they are imperfect and inadequate human beings.

In summary, whatever the reason these things happened, only God knows. One thing is for sure, He is sovereign. He is God. He allows things to happen good or bad, even if they don’t make sense to us humans. He is not under any obligation to explain himself, even to Christians, unless he chooses to do so.

So here I am, sharing another lesson. Learned by an imperfect Christian.

6 thoughts on “Yolanda and the Revolution of Righteousness

  1. who are we to be proud of our own righteousness? a modern pharisee?

    ” But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags….”(Isaiah 64:4)..

  2. Exposure of graft and corruption, earthquake, typhoon…

    a quick glance at history will tell us it happens all the time. to all races, to all faiths, from the ancient to the present.
    it does not prove anything.
    it was not caused by your church, or their church, or anybody’s church.
    not only was it too assumptive but ignorant to say the least.
    correlation does not imply causation.

    but you know it always happens when we start thinking the world revolves around our loftiness.
    we all are guilty of it from time to time.

Join the Ruckus...

