When I’m having Spiritual Temper Tantrums

Do you know what are Spiritual Temper Tantrums?

Toddler on the ground crying

Let me give you my own example, from my own experience:

He gives me an idea. I get excited.
I get excited but He makes me wait.

He makes me wait. Until I get tired of waiting.
I get tired of waiting, I start complaining.
I start complaining, but He keeps his silence.
He keeps His silence, so I start making my own move.
I make my move, he foils my plans.
He foils my plans, I get frustrated.

I get frustrated, that is the time I throw my “spiritual temper tantrums”:
shutterstock_113759761I rant, I cry, I blame him, I wallow in self-pity, I stop praying, I shout, I get angry, I go ballistic, I accuse him of being unfair.
Yes, I tell him straight that I am frustrated and disappointed.

(see: Frustrated with God and Im so disappointed with you Lord)

I hate my life and don’t want to go on living. Oh, leave me alone for my few remaining days. Why won’t you leave me alone, at least long enough for me to swallow! If I have sinned, what have I done to you, O watcher of all humanity? Why make me your target? Am I a burden to you? Why not just forgive my sin and take away my guilt? For soon I will lie down in the dust and die. When you look for me, I will be gone.” (Job 7:11, 7:17-21)

But he still keeps his silence. He still won’t move.
Until I get tired. Until I get worn out.
My soul stops shouting.
My crying fades into faint sobs.

Then I pick myself up. Then I stop being childish.
I go back to our secret place, guilty, feeling stupid, but determined.

I ask him humbly: What is it that you want me to learn?
Then He replies: That I love you. That I want you to trust my timing. That I want you to learn patience together with your faith.

And when I finally find the peace to trust his timing, his ways and his plans, That’s the time he moves.

And I get the best surprise beyond my wildest imagination.

Yes, I am guilty of throwing spiritual temper tantrums once in a while. But my Dad can handle that.

How about you? When did you last had an STS?

One thought on “When I’m having Spiritual Temper Tantrums

  1. Pingback: 7 ways to know that our choices are aligned with God’s will | Notes of an Imperfect Christian

Join the Ruckus...

