2015: Year of Beholding

Due to some issue at work, I was able to get home at 2AM. I feel too tired that I wasn’t even able to eat. As if it wasn’t New Year’s eve. All I want is to get into my bedroom and sleep.

But minutes before I fell asleep, I felt the nudge to pray and write a personal declaration for 2015 like I normally do in past years during New Year’s eve. I was too sleepy, so I prayed, and typed away these words on my Facebook page.

Behold, 2015 is the year of pleasant surprises, unbelievable twists, great revelations and wonderful unfoldings. Like a great novel, this year will be the climax of wonderful stories and good things that I started. This is the year that you will finally realize why things had to happen the way they happened. This is the year which you will discover, much to your surprise, that your world was not falling apart, rather it is falling into place. And when that happens you will know who I am: the God who keeps his promises, the Lord of covenant.

It is I the Lord your God, who called you by name. I watch you day and night because you are the apple of my eyes. You who seek my face, this year I will reveal myself more to you. Ready yourself. I say this again, ready yourself! Like a lover to his beloved, I will shower you with affection, and my presence will not leave you. Your heart will see my face shine upon you. Your face will grow radiant and every single cell of your body will be refreshed. I will encamp around you. I will lead you with my pillar. Oh my heart is bursting with excitement, as I see you overjoyed. I love to see you overjoyed. Do you feel it now? Ready yourself. I will show you great things. I will show you who I am. I am sovereign; See now, I am working with you, in you, for you and through you. BEHOLD.

The morning after, i woke up to 2 words echoing in my mind. SEE and BEHOLD.

Unable to get it out of my mind, I Googled it and the results lead me to 2 Bible References: Psalms 34 and Isaiah 43. The numbers being repeated backwards is kind of amusing for me

But what I read got me goosebumps, because I swear I didn’t read these verses. I know I was half-asleep typing away that declaration, (more like done in a “lets-get-this-done-and-over-with” manner).

Below is an excerpt of Psalms 34, for emphasis, I highlighted the words that are found on the declaration above or similar in context in my opinion.

taste and see

I sought the Lord, and He answered me
and delivered me from all my fears.
5 Those who look to Him are[c] radiant with joy;
their faces will never be ashamed.
6 This poor man cried, and the Lord heard him
and saved him from all his troubles.
7 The Angel of the Lord encamps
around those who fear Him, and rescues them.

8 Taste and see that the Lord is good.
How happy is the man who takes refuge in Him!
9 You who are His holy ones, fear Yahweh,
for those who fear Him lack nothing.
10 Young lions[d] lack food and go hungry,
but those who seek the Lord
will not lack any good thing.

Below is an excerpt of Isaiah 43, again for emphasis, I highlighted the words that I believe is similar in context to the message above.

“Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
I have called you by your name;
You are Mine.
2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
And through the rivers, they shall not overflow you.
When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned,
Nor shall the flame scorch you.
3 For I am the Lord your God,
The Holy One of Israel, your Savior;
I gave Egypt for your ransom,
Ethiopia and Seba in your place.
4 Since you were precious in My sight,
You have been honored,
And I have loved you;
Therefore I will give men for you,
And people for your life.
5 Fear not, for I am with you;

“You are My witnesses,” says the Lord,
“And My servant whom I have chosen,
That you may know and believe Me,
And understand that I am He.
Before Me there was no God formed,
Nor shall there be after Me.
11 I, even I, am the Lord,
And besides Me there is no savior.
12 I have declared and saved,
I have proclaimed,
And there was no foreign god among you;
Therefore you are My witnesses,”
Says the Lord, “that I am God.

18 “Do not remember the former things,
Nor consider the things of old.
19 Behold, I will do a new thing,
Now it shall spring forth;
Shall you not know it?
I will even make a road in the wilderness
And rivers in the desert.

God be praised.

Then when I checked my phone, the Verse of the Day on the homescreen says:

beholdCoincidence?

Join the Ruckus...